WIFI Device

Freesat / GTMedia V7S,
Freesat V7 HD,
Freesat V7 max,
Freesat V7 combo

Moderators: admin, Rambo, Freesat Team

zx123
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:01 am

WIFI Device

Postby zx123 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:24 am

Just got a V7 HD but it does not come with a WIFI adapter.

Do I need one to use the receiver?

Thanks.

User avatar
Eak_Dumnern
网站管理员
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:58 am
Location: Thailand

Re: WIFI Device

Postby Eak_Dumnern » Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:27 am

Freesat wifi adapter support wifi chip Ralink RT5370 USB 2.0

juan_vale
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:50 am
Location: B.C.S. Mexico 24N 110W

Re: WIFI Device

Postby juan_vale » Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:55 am

zx123 wrote:Just got a V7 HD but it does not come with a WIFI adapter.

Do I need one to use the receiver?

Thanks.

If you want to use an internet server eg Cccam, Newcamd, Mgcamd, IKS or youtube then Yes you need the wifi antenna.
If you use the box for FTA, Powervue, Biss or Tandberg then NO you don't need the wifi antenna

zx123
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:01 am

Re: WIFI Device

Postby zx123 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:01 am

Thank you for the quick answers.

Where can I get the wifi adapter?

juan_vale
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:50 am
Location: B.C.S. Mexico 24N 110W

Re: WIFI Device

Postby juan_vale » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:15 am

Depends where you are located, Ebay has lots of them but you might be able to get them from your local satellite shop, I can buy them from 3 shops here in Mexico as well as the Mexican Ebay (Mercado Libre) . Cost between 5 to 10 USD.

zx123
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:01 am

Re: WIFI Device

Postby zx123 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:37 am

juan_vale wrote:Depends where you are located, Ebay has lots of them but you might be able to get them from your local satellite shop, I can buy them from 3 shops here in Mexico as well as the Mexican Ebay (Mercado Libre) . Cost between 5 to 10 USD.

Thank you

B34t3rGT
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: WIFI Device

Postby B34t3rGT » Tue Mar 13, 2018 3:14 pm

zx123 wrote:Thank you for the quick answers.

Where can I get the wifi adapter?


I've used the nexxt nano usb adapter, it has the ralink5370 chipset, take into account that it doesn't have a moving antenna but depends on the location of your WiFi source to get good signal.

juan_vale
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:50 am
Location: B.C.S. Mexico 24N 110W

Re: WIFI Device

Postby juan_vale » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:36 pm

Where can I get the wifi adapter?

Although my wifi dongle came with the box, you can use most dongles that are advertised for the MAG254 iptv boxes and also the Jynxbox satellite boxes, they all use the same chipset.
Like this for example

Code: Select all

https://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-WiFi-Adapter-Dongle-For-MAG250-MAG254-255-MAG256-257-MAG350-MAG352-Jynxbox/282762391025?_trkparms=aid%3D888007%26algo%3DDISC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20131227121020%26meid%3D6bd678ce806640dc8964fd2ecbb70864%26pid%3D100009%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D1%26sd%3D221986096437%26itm%3D282762391025&_trksid=p2047675.c100009.m1982

User avatar
Feralkiwi
网站管理员
Posts: 2335
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:51 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: WIFI Device

Postby Feralkiwi » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:58 pm

There is this old discussion from 2016 re wifi chipsets etc.

And this one re the chipset that works.

Searching the forums with "Chipset" finds this info.

Owen
Dishes; 5x3m, 2.4m, 2.1m, 1.8m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. Skybox F5, F5s, V6, V8. Openbox V8 Combo, Pro, Freesat V8 Golden, Nova, GTC, Super and Angle (Sample). Freesat V7HDs, Combo and V7s. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.


Return to “Freesat & GTMedia V7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests