My FREESAT V7 Receiver Died

V7 TT Pro / V7S HD /V7 Plus/V7 S2X /V7PRO/ V7 TT

Moderators: admin, GTMedia Team

gdhunt

My FREESAT V7 Receiver Died

Post by gdhunt »

It was turned on in mid-August 2016 and appears to be dead as of July 8, 2017. The little red light on the power supply still lights up, but there's no light anymore on the receivers front face...bummed out.

Looks like I need to order a new unit and am asking FREESAT forum members for help selecting what model I would be happiest with. If you can do that, I'll try to find a place online to order it from. I just want a have a good dependable unit I can play with, has the capabilities to get the good stuff and is state of art. I'm a satellite hobbyist since 1987, using a 10' Winegard Pinnacle, H/H mount and live in West Michigan.

Here's a dumb question: Can my current dead unit be brought back to life and fixed?

So, what FREESAT receiver's going to be best for my hobby and location? I'm ready to order a new unit today if possible.

Thanks so much for giving this some thought and for your willingness to share information!

Gary

iq180
网站管理员

Re: My FREESAT V7 Receiver Died

Post by iq180 »

Well first thing to ask your self is what do you need, the more options a receiver has the more chances ther are for things to go wrong.
My self, I use the Freesat V8 Supper, it has less options than the other Freesat receivers and less problems, in the end it's up to you and what you need a receiver to do.

gdhunt

Post by gdhunt »

I thought my FREESAT V7 was the very basic model and that a Freesat V8 Supper would have more bells and whistles. The V7 was my very first FREESAT experience and since I now find that I need a new receiver, thought I would request other forum members their opinions.

Thank you for taking time to offer yours!

Gary

cpr43
网站管理员

Post by cpr43 »

Try to revive your dead V7 first using the USB or the RS232 process.

USB Process