Finding Sats

for the power, AV cable,HDMI cable....

Moderators: admin, Rambo, Freesat Team

Dave2001
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:23 pm
Location: South Florida

Finding Sats

Postby Dave2001 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:44 pm

Can I do sat scans with the sat finder signal meter still in the line?

User avatar
Feralkiwi
网站管理员
Posts: 2693
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:51 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Feralkiwi » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:10 pm

Yes you can.
The tone sat finder uses a bit of power and will cause a small lose of signal as well but does not prevent normal use of the box.

Owen
Dishes; 5x3m, 2.4m, 2.1m, 1.8m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. Skybox F5, F5s, V6, V8. Openbox V8 Combo, Pro, Freesat V8 Golden, Nova, GTC, Super and Angle (Sample). Freesat V7HDs, Combo and V7s. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.

hotsat9
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby hotsat9 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 9:11 pm

A tone finder is my biggest friend.

It helps allot to find sats that have power on their transponders turned down or if you are on a fringe area.

Ill spend an entire afternoon looking for new satellite configurations. Ill leave the sat tone box inline for the whole day while I am playing with pointing. Ill spot check and scan several satellites. At the end of the day Ill take the tone box out of the line and ill see the quality jump up 1%.

901
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:31 am

Re: Finding Sats

Postby 901 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:14 pm

hotsat9 wrote:A tone finder is my biggest friend.

It helps allot to find sats that have power on their transponders turned down or if you are on a fringe area.

Ill spend an entire afternoon looking for new satellite configurations. Ill leave the sat tone box inline for the whole day while I am playing with pointing. Ill spot check and scan several satellites. At the end of the day Ill take the tone box out of the line and ill see the quality jump up 1%.


Sometimes that 1% helps. There's a lot of times where if I could only get the quality up another percent or two, might have a stable pic then.

Murf006
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:35 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Murf006 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:32 pm

Without a motor to turn the dish what is the easiest way to satellite hop to multiple satellites

User avatar
educastroz
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:27 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Re: Finding Sats

Postby educastroz » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:48 am


User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Marsat » Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:48 pm

Murf006 wrote:Without a motor to turn the dish what is the easiest way to satellite hop to multiple satellites


patience 8-)

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Marsat » Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:53 pm

Joke appart what are you planning to do?

If you do not have a motor or actuator, how are you going to move from one sat to the other? Just guessing

I can tell you how I do example to get all sats from 30W to 135W. North America

Not easy takes time but for ME works 100%

User avatar
Feralkiwi
网站管理员
Posts: 2693
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:51 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Feralkiwi » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:18 pm

With out a motor you can still set up the dish mount so that it swings along the arc.
After that you just adjust the bolt and nut each time you move it, while having some kind of mark system to follow.
I have done this and it works well.

Find the instructions to set up for a actuator mover and follow that.

Owen
Dishes; 5x3m, 2.4m, 2.1m, 1.8m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. Skybox F5, F5s, V6, V8. Openbox V8 Combo, Pro, Freesat V8 Golden, Nova, GTC, Super and Angle (Sample). Freesat V7HDs, Combo and V7s. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.

Murf006
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:35 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Murf006 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:55 pm

I setup my 8 foot satellite from tek2000. These are the percentages I get from some of the transponders on 101W in the morning. I am located in North Carolina
3840 v 69%
3880 v 69%
4020 H 66%

I have a freesat v7hd and when I recorded a show for my wife on transponder 3880 the play back was choppy. Also on transponder 4020 in the afternoon the channels would disappear. What quality percentage should I be getting.

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Marsat » Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:37 am

Murf006 wrote:I setup my 8 foot satellite from tek2000. These are the percentages I get from some of the transponders on 101W in the morning. I am located in North Carolina
3840 v 69%
3880 v 69%
4020 H 66%

I have a freesat v7hd and when I recorded a show for my wife on transponder 3880 the play back was choppy. Also on transponder 4020 in the afternoon the channels would disappear. What quality percentage should I be getting.



You know Murf 101 is a headache for me too. I am guessing is my neighbours Mango Tree :evil: :evil: messing up

I like SyFy. so I move to 125W which is the same Mux but West. My guessing Mango tree or not is possible a low power TP, due 125W is almost my other neighbours fence and I have in that TP (125W) 95%/77% and on 3880 H from 101W I have the same as you

TWSat
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:02 am

Re: Finding Sats

Postby TWSat » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:28 am

Murf006 wrote:I setup my 8 foot satellite from tek2000. These are the percentages I get from some of the transponders on 101W in the morning. I am located in North Carolina
3840 v 69%
3880 v 69%
4020 H 66%


That's OK but you should be able to do better. Remember to adjust the LNB skew as well as the dish positioning.

And also remember that Q numbers are not set to any standard so are only useful if you compare on the same box. For example, if one box gives 70% and another 80% they might not be any difference, just a difference in the way the meter works.

Murf006
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:35 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Murf006 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:03 pm

I was tweaking my 8 foot satellite dish and I got the percentages to go up on some of the transponders. Here is the information below

4020 H 70%
3840 V 72%
3880 V 70%
4180 H 74-77%
3820 H 69%

However I lost the following transponders when I tried to get higher signals:

4100 H
4080 V

Is there a way to get all these transponders or am I going to have to lose a couple. This is on 101W

bubbs16
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:58 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby bubbs16 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:01 pm

Murf006 wrote:I setup my 8 foot satellite from tek2000. These are the percentages I get from some of the transponders on 101W in the morning. I am located in North Carolina
3840 v 69%
3880 v 69%
4020 H 66%

I have a freesat v7hd and when I recorded a show for my wife on transponder 3880 the play back was choppy. Also on transponder 4020 in the afternoon the channels would disappear. What quality percentage should I be getting.



I have a few tp like that as well I can pick them up in the morning bu thats it . then they are gone till the next morning lol.

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Marsat » Wed Oct 10, 2018 12:39 am

Murf006 wrote:I was tweaking my 8 foot satellite dish and I got the percentages to go up on some of the transponders. Here is the information below

4020 H 70%
3840 V 72%
3880 V 70%
4180 H 74-77%
3820 H 69%

However I lost the following transponders when I tried to get higher signals:

4100 H
4080 V

Is there a way to get all these transponders or am I going to have to lose a couple. This is on 101W



Murf...

something is off
You should have better signal than that..
3820 H is low power one... work on that see if you can get 72 to 74% tweaking skew and Focal distance, just VERY slowly if you can get that TP up you get them all

Murf006
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:35 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Murf006 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:08 pm

that is what I thought. I got my laser for my telescope working. it is used to align the mirrors on a newton type telescope. I will use it to see if my lnb is centered, and make very small movements.

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Marsat » Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:50 pm

Murf006 wrote:that is what I thought. I got my laser for my telescope working. it is used to align the mirrors on a newton type telescope. I will use it to see if my lnb is centered, and make very small movements.

That's great
Where did you get that laser?

And do you have a fixed dish or has a motor/actuator?

Murf006
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:35 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Murf006 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:20 pm

I bought the laser from an online telescope store. I think it is orion or telescope.com. I have a fixed satellite dish.

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Marsat » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:28 pm

Murf006 wrote:I bought the laser from an online telescope store. I think it is orion or telescope.com. I have a fixed satellite dish.

do you have a picture or how you did it?
these Chaparral feedhorn MUST be 100% aligned mine was, until neighbour f*&%*% it up

I was planning fast to buy one of those laser pens at walmart but my brain is fried :?

Jim
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 2:24 pm

Re: Finding Sats

Postby Jim » Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:39 pm

I took the cap off one of those large jugs of laundry detergent and drilled a hole in the center of it. I inserted a laser pen making sure it was plumb and epoxied it. If the cap is a little larger then the throat of the feedhorn place small strips of double faced tape inside in several places. And I also measure the distance from the edge of the feedhorn throat to the edge of the dish in several places to make sure they our the same.


Return to “Accessories”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest