C band in North America

Talking about new market news, idea for life

Moderators: admin, Rambo, Freesat Team

WantFreesatV7
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:15 pm

Re: C band in North America

Postby WantFreesatV7 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:59 pm

They added StartTV too - a bunch of 90s shows like Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman. And Freesat receivers are of the few that can get these channels since the broadcast is a strange setup - I'm guessing they have bad amps and the transponder is made to look like several individual transponders (I'm guessing the station receivers across the country can't handle MPTS so they found a way to have multiple SPTS on a transponder, but most receivers hate these channels. Yay for Freesat.

MexicanSat
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:06 am

Re: C band in North America

Postby MexicanSat » Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:09 am

Televisa mux has been moved from 135w to its new location at 103w
starting today (power vu)

Fusion HD

El Rey West

El Rey East

Telehit

De Pelicula Clasico

De Pelicula

Ritmoson Latino

Bandamax

Foro TV

TL Novelas
Freesat GtMedia nova v8 Orange / Antena 4 metros / Satelites 40w al 135w.

PlutoPlanet474
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: C band in North America

Postby PlutoPlanet474 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:32 pm

WantFreesatV7 wrote:They added StartTV too - a bunch of 90s shows like Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman. And Freesat receivers are of the few that can get these channels since the broadcast is a strange setup - I'm guessing they have bad amps and the transponder is made to look like several individual transponders (I'm guessing the station receivers across the country can't handle MPTS so they found a way to have multiple SPTS on a transponder, but most receivers hate these channels. Yay for Freesat.


I agree, the V7S will lock these channels when they fluctuate on other receivers, which you can even seen the signal and quality levels jump up and down. You'd think they could get them fixed, or that other receivers could get firmware upgrades to make them work. This channel issue has been going off and on for several years now.

PlutoPlanet474
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: C band in North America

Postby PlutoPlanet474 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:43 pm

My favorite sats are: 87w, 97w, and 99w. 101w is also good.

knotyew
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: C band in North America

Postby knotyew » Fri Sep 28, 2018 6:00 pm

They added StartTV too - a bunch of 90s shows like Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman. And Freesat receivers are of the few that can get these channels since the broadcast is a strange setup - I'm guessing they have bad amps and the transponder is made to look like several individual transponders (I'm guessing the station receivers across the country can't handle MPTS so they found a way to have multiple SPTS on a transponder, but most receivers hate these channels. Yay for Freesat.

I have a Freesat V7Max, yet it will not lock on to 3965 V, and 3972 V on SES1 the transponders for Start Tv, I get a pixelated picture with broken audio,
I am using a Titanium Satellite C1W-Pll Wide band PLL C-Band LNBF, I get 3953v, 3957v, 3961, 3975v transponders all have a SR & FEC 2734-5/6 with no problem. Just can't lock on and get Start TV.

mustardtiger
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:10 am
Location: USA

Re: C band in North America

Postby mustardtiger » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:07 pm

I have the same lnbf on my 10 foot dish and get 95%S and 85%Q on V8 super and V8 nova with these transponders. Sorry I don't own a V7 but would imagine similar results.

TWSat
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:02 am

Re: C band in North America

Postby TWSat » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:45 am

knotyew wrote:
I have a Freesat V7Max, yet it will not lock on to 3965 V, and 3972 V on SES1 the transponders for Start Tv, I get a pixelated picture with broken audio,
I am using a Titanium Satellite C1W-Pll Wide band PLL C-Band LNBF, I get 3953v, 3957v, 3961, 3975v transponders all have a SR & FEC 2734-5/6 with no problem. Just can't lock on and get Start TV.


I get it fine. Instead of blind scanning, try adding the channel manually then giving the dish a little pull and push to see if you can get it. If so, the dish is slightly misaligned.

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: C band in North America

Postby Marsat » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:35 am

TWSat wrote:
knotyew wrote:
I have a Freesat V7Max, yet it will not lock on to 3965 V, and 3972 V on SES1 the transponders for Start Tv, I get a pixelated picture with broken audio,
I am using a Titanium Satellite C1W-Pll Wide band PLL C-Band LNBF, I get 3953v, 3957v, 3961, 3975v transponders all have a SR & FEC 2734-5/6 with no problem. Just can't lock on and get Start TV.


I get it fine. Instead of blind scanning, try adding the channel manually then giving the dish a little pull and push to see if you can get it. If so, the dish is slightly misaligned.

Mostly the issue
I believe he needs to tweak with LNB skew and Focal distance, he possible adjusted the dish on a strong signal TP without checking upon low power ones

bubbs16
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:58 pm

Re: C band in North America

Postby bubbs16 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:26 pm

i have issues with my c1-pll lnb too. might switch back to my old chaparall it got much better signal.

TWSat
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:02 am

Re: C band in North America

Postby TWSat » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:48 pm

bubbs16 wrote:i have issues with my c1-pll lnb too. might switch back to my old chaparall it got much better signal.


I'm surprised that is the case.

The C1-PLL needs to be accurately aligned. You need to make sure it's pointing at the center of the dish, make sure the skew is correct and make sure it's at the right distance from the dish surface. It's tricky but in my experience it should give you a better signal level.

The older LNB is probably screwed down in exactly the correct position. I bet your C1-PLL problems are due to it not being in the right place.

Take a TV out to the dish, finder a weaker channel and try to peak it.

bubbs16
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:58 pm

Re: C band in North America

Postby bubbs16 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:55 pm

why does that surprise you ? the old corators get a much better signal cause you can fine tune every single ch man. but i was sick of it locking up in the winter and not changing from h to vertical lol. so i got a new pll

TWSat
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:02 am

Re: C band in North America

Postby TWSat » Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:51 am

bubbs16 wrote:why does that surprise you ? the old corators get a much better signal cause you can fine tune every single ch man. but i was sick of it locking up in the winter and not changing from h to vertical lol. so i got a new pll


Just because I've found the C1-PLL to be more sensitive and more stable, thanks to the PLL it seems to be able to lock weaker signals. But could just be a difference in my set up.

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: C band in North America

Postby Marsat » Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:51 am

bubbs16 wrote:i have issues with my c1-pll lnb too. might switch back to my old chaparall it got much better signal.

yeah that is odd :(

bubbs16
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:58 pm

Re: C band in North America

Postby bubbs16 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:30 pm

Marsat wrote:
bubbs16 wrote:i have issues with my c1-pll lnb too. might switch back to my old chaparall it got much better signal.

yeah that is odd :(



pm'd you ...

User avatar
Marsat
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:52 am
Location: Miami

Re: C band in North America

Postby Marsat » Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:27 pm

bubbs16 wrote:
Marsat wrote:
bubbs16 wrote:i have issues with my c1-pll lnb too. might switch back to my old chaparall it got much better signal.

yeah that is odd :(



pm'd you ...

I got it. I responded


Return to “Others”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests